Engage. Inspire. Empower.

Please join us in congratulating our 11 newly National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs) and our 13 teachers who just renewed their certification!

This is a big deal! To earn this prestigious and important designation, these dedicated teachers had to meet the National Board’s standards in their content area, and complete a huge portfolio showing their ability to meet the rigorous standards, focus on student learning, and become reflective practitioners. It requires over 400 hours of work to complete the process!

We’re proud of all of our 157 teachers in Catawba County Schools who have earned this designation. Having over 20% of our teachers National Board certified gives us the honor of being named a “National Board Accomplished District.” North Carolina leads the country with 23,090 NBCTs!

Thank you to Regina Propst and Carla Burns, our National Board coordinators for the district, for helping us achieve this outstanding designation!

11 CCS Teachers became National Board Certified. Details in text on website

Congratulations to these 11 newly National Board Certified teachers:

Balls Creek Elementary
Christine Lorch

Catawba Elementary
Amber Wilkerson

Challenger High
Jessica Guyer
Paige Richards
Anissa Wall

River Bend Middle
Crystal Webb

Sherrills Ford Elementary
Jennifer Barrow
Brittany Burgin

St. Stephens Elementary
Kathryn Little

St. Stephens High
Mary Hancock

Tuttle Elementary
Kristian Shoffner


11 CCS Teachers renewed National Board Certification. Details in text on website

Congratulations to these 12 CCS teachers who renewed their National Board Certification!

Arndt Middle
Jennifer Stodden

Bandys High
Marcia Foster
Ashley Grigg-Love

Central Office
Carla Burns

Clyde Campbell Elem.
Tennille Baker

Lyle Creek Elementary
Meredith Huret

Maiden High
Heather McGovern

Mt. View Elementary
Natalie Cadle

Oxford Elementary
Michelle Shelly

River Bend Middle
Staci Bumgarner

St. Stephens High
Melissa Biggs
Sarah Byrd